Your basket is empty
Gough Whitlam
Guide to archives of Australia’s prime ministers
Enter your e-mail address to be notified when product is in stock
Notify Me!

This research guide describes the archival records on Gough and Margaret Whitlam held by the National Archives of Australia and other collecting institutions. Gough Whitlam was Australia’s 21st Prime Minister, beginning his term in 1972.

He was the first Leader of the Australian Labor Party to be returned as Prime Minister at successive elections, being returned at the May 1974 double dissolution election. Whitlam held the NSW seat of Werriwa for 26 years.

Authors: Jenny Hocking, with Clare Land, Natasha Campo and Sarah Tayton
Publication Date: 2016
Pages: 205
ISBN 978-1-922209-07-08